Livin’ in Appreciation ~

Nothing has changed my life more than appreciation of everything.

At one point in my life, I was heading down the road of negativity. Being a girl who was mostly happy all of my life, that was more than uncomfortable. As I got older and with each precious child I was gifted with, I began to fuss and worry about everything. I assumed it was something I would have to live with for the rest of my life. I learned from everyone around me and began to accept this is what it meant to grow older, more responsible, to be an adult and a parent. It is not surprising that I began to feel as though someone was smothering me with a pillow and depression followed. I vacillated back and forth from depression to anger, back to depression because I did not think it was appropriate that I be angry at anyone or anything. Then I made a life changing decision, I decided I was not about to live a life of despair.

I began keeping a gratitude journal nearly 11 years ago and my life has changed in a way I could never have imagined. It was slow going at first, when you are not accustomed to using your appreciation muscle, you need to work at it for a bit. It is just fine to begin slowly. Think of anything that you appreciate. Before you know it, the Universe will knock itself out showing you more and more things to appreciate. You will begin to walk around saying Thank you out loud. At night as I settle myself into my bed, I close my eyes and begin a rampage of appreciation. I bask myself to sleep each night. You have the power to change the direction of your life with the art of appreciation ~

1 Comment

  1. Hey Tracie, I agree – gratitude and positivity are habits we have to cultivate

Leave a Reply

