Surrender, A life lesson for all ~

There are lessons taught in life that are Universal, they simply come from many different teachers ~

As the mother of a child with Autism, I was constantly worried about so much in our life a great deal of time during those early years.
Was I making all of the correct decisions for our son and our family?
Was there another therapy we should try?
Can we afford another therapy?
Will he be in middle school and still wearing diapers?
Would he ever speak to me? Would he ever be able to say “I love you mommy”?
Will I be able to rest anytime soon?
What can I do, what is humanly possible to make Connor ‘typical’?
How can I CHANGE him so society will accept and embrace him?
All of these and many more were/are valid concerns, all well-meaning and with the best intentions. We all want the best for our children. Right?

The paradigm shift within our life, within my life occurred when I stopped worrying. Yes, easier said than done.
I came to a point within my life when I had to give up control, if I did not, I was not certain I could survive living life.
Those in religious settings call it faith and surrender. I handed everything over to God.
I had to release control over the uncontrollable.
Did that make me a bad person? No.
Did I suddenly no longer care about our son? Not at all.
I gave up control over the uncontrollable and began focusing on the only thing I could control…..How I felt about everything within my life.

When I gave up control over everything else, when I gave up worry, when I gave up trying to make our son change who he was………
It was as if someone opened the floodgates, my life began to flow with more ease and Connor, our precious Connor ‘felt’ my releasing and relinquishing of my control over him and began to thrive ~ ♥

Leave a Reply

