I made the decision to ‘Get Happy!’

I became so tired from what felt like fighting, struggling or pushing against everyone and everything, school districts, other parents who did not understand, teachers, therapists, even my precious Connor. I was worn out body and soul and decided I had to make a choice; taking my life felt like the relief I was looking for yet, I could not leave my husband and children, I have come appreciate that dark time because of the clarity it offered me.
I was not about to live a life of struggle, pain, depression or despair…….. I made the decision to get happy, to BE Happy.

I did not know how it was going to happen, but making the decision was the first step.
Then I began to appreciate anything and everything I could.

That was slow going at first, after all, I was not accustomed to appreciating things in the dark despair I had been playing in.
Our thoughts and beliefs are practiced within our minds all of our waking hours.
If we want to change anything, we must practice those new thoughts.
I had to practice my positive thought muscle and it had been dormant for quite a while.

At first my appreciation list was small, the air that filled my lungs, I appreciated the blood that pumped through my veins, the sun that rose each morning and set each night and I did not need to raise or lower it.
As I practiced appreciating life, life showed me more to appreciate. The more I appreciate, I shifted my perspective on everything and everything within my life began to respond differently to me. As I softened my stance, everything in life began to smooth out.

Does that mean life never throws me a curve ball anymore?
Nope, BUT, now when it does, I recognize all I need to do is focus on what feels best, focus on those things I appreciate and trust, have faith that everything will fall into place….It always does.
What do you choose?
In such appreciation,
Tracie ~ ♥

Leave a Reply

