Where you place your focus

greenmeansgoToday as I was driving the children to Summer camp, I drove down one of our main streets which had as far as I could see, eight stop lights ahead of me. I knew the street was/is a long street, it takes you from one town to another but because there were all green lights lit up on all eight stop lights straight ahead, I had never noticed just how many I could see at one time. I smiled because in our world, green means GO and they were all lit up perfectly in unison, it was quite pretty, a sort of  little wink from the Universe that the path/road is clear.

As I continued to drive, I noticed in my peripheral vision, cars on either side putting their brakes on to make their turns. Even though I saw all green lights ahead of me, (my path was clear) even though no one was directly in front of me, when I saw red brake lights to the right or left side of me, I would immediately slow down. A “habit” if you will of my “safe” driving, especially when my children are in the car with me.

I smiled once again as I thought of the analogy of life within this seemingly meaningless observation.When we know what it is we desire how often do we place all of our attention, all of our focus upon the desire i.e.”green lights”? Or do we place our foot on the brake when we hit obstacles or something that slows the momentum, even if it is not directly in front of us, i.e.”the red lights” of others who are not in my path?

Life is in a constant state of motion, it must be because that is the nature of our Universe, ever-evolving, ever-changing, becoming more, never, ever, ever diminishing. If we can begin to train our minds to begin focusing fully on our desires rather than the obstacles that come our way, we would begin to show ourselves the powerful beings we truly are. When you do come across an obstacle, recognize this is ever and only an opportunity for you to fine-tune, sharpen or come to more clarity about this desire you hold. Those who may be slowing down to the right or left side of you, have nothing to do with you, unless you give your attention to what they are doing.

I think that is such a wonderful realization, we have to ability, the full capability to place our focus upon our desires and to recognize we are constantly being given opportunities, the freedom to fine-tune, change, shift or create our focus/desire.

My love,

Tracie

1 Comment

  1. Hello! I came across your blog and I must say I LOVE it! I really enjoyed reading it and felt a ton of synergy with our project.

    Have you heard about the new documentary inspired by the teachings of Joseph Campbell: FINDING JOE? We are starting to reach out on a very grassroots level to influential bloggers, like you, who share our vision and would be supportive of the message.

    I’d love to send you a copy for your review. And dont worry, this is not spam! I promise! We have over 9000 fans on Facebook and we could definitely help promote your work, especially since I know our community would really benefit from your writing.

    Please let me know via email if you would like me to send you a DVD and I’ll rush one out.

    Check out the trailer here: http://www.findingjoethemovie.com

    Warmly
    Priscilla Marinero
    FINDING JOE
    e. Priscilla@findingjoethemovie.com
    w. http://www.findingjoethemovie.com
    fb. facebook.com/findingjoe
    t. twitter.com/findingjoethemovie

    FINDING JOE

    In the early 20th century, while studying world mythology, Joseph Campbell discovered a pattern hidden in every story ever told and he called it “The Hero’s Journey.” A truly inspirational film, FINDING JOE takes us on the ultimate hero’s journey: the journey of self discovery. Using the mythological teachings of Joseph Campbell, and interviews with visionaries, the film inspires us all to discover our passions and purpose. As you slay dragons and uncover treasures, you just may find that the holy grail you seek is closer than you think. This life changing film is now available on DVD and iTunes.

    Featuring: Deepak Chopra, Mick Fleetwood, Tony Hawk, Rashida Jones, Laird Hamilton, Robert Walter, Robin Sharma, Catherine Hardwicke, Sir Ken Robinson, Akiva Goldsman and many more.

Leave a Reply

